On the road again

Welcome to the Department of Mathematics

The department of Mathematics was initially established in 1983 as the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science under the School of Science and Science Education to offer BTech in Applied Mathematics with computer science option. The Department services all other Departments in the University with foundation Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science. The Department also runs postgraduate programmes (MTech and PhD) in Applied Mathematics and Diploma in Computer Science.
The Department started with Late Prof. Eneduanya as the pioneer Head of Department in 1983, with an initial student’s population of 45 and academic staff strength of 8.
At the onset, a committee was set up to structuring the department into three (3) components. These are: Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science.
The first ever first class graduate produced by Federal University of Technology, Minna came from this able department named Mrs. Aisha Yusuf.
After some years, the Computer science component was removed and move under school of ICT. At the 387th Senate meeting held on 17th September, 2014, the Department was split into two: Department of Mathematics and Department of Statistics.
From inception to date, the Department has been headed by Late Prof. S. A. N. Eneduanya (1983 - 1991), Mr. Bamkefa (1991 - 1993), Prof. K. R. Adeboye (1993 - 1998), Dr. S. A. Reju (1998 - 2002), Dr. L. N. Ezeako (2002 - 2006), Prof. N. I. Akinwande (2006 - 2010), Prof. U. Y. Abubakar (2010 - 2011), Prof. Y. M. Aiyesimi (2011 - 2015) and Dr. R. O. Olayiwola (2015 - Date).
The Department has grown and developed in leaps and bounds over the last three decades. Presently, there are 24 members of academic staff of which five of them are Professors and two are Associate Professor.
On 3rd to 6th May, 2016, the Department of Mathematics hosted an outstanding successful 35th Annual Conference of the Nigerian Mathematical Society with many mathematicians within and outside the country in attendance.

Philosophy: The Department aspires to provide students with opportunity to develop mathematical skills needed for a vast array of careers in Nigeria and beyond.

To be a leading academic department of excellence that will train students who will apply Information Technology in the field of Mathematics for learning and research.

To produce highly motivated and enterprising graduates with up-to-date knowledge and skills in Mathematics for research and application purposes.


© 2017 Department of Mathematics, FUTMinna. Designed By ITS Web Team